VanBarriger comes in 11th to lead Chiefs to 8th place at Spartan Classic

VanBarriger comes in 11th to lead Chiefs to 8th place at Spartan Classic

(Aurora, IL.) –  Waubonsee Community College was one of 22 teams competing in the Aurora University Spartan Classic at Oakhurst Forest Preserve on the east side of Aurora. Several days of rain, including showers earlier in the day, created a slippery course with areas of muddy terrain. However, the sloppy conditions did not bother the Chiefs' Jordan VanBarriger as he finished 11th overall to lead Waubonsee to eighth place in the men's race.

VanBarriger, a freshman from Rockford East High School, slide his way around the 8K course in a time of 26:17. Chiefs' teammate Brad Osuch placed 24th crossing the finish line 0:25 behind VanBarriger as the duo were the top two junior college finishers. Waubonsee's Stephen Merriweather came in 39th, Tomas Dominguez was 63rd and Jacob Fehrenbacher ended up 76th to round out the Chiefs' scoring. Waubonsee's other participants, Ryan Moshinsky and C.J. Girolamo, placed 79th and finished 83rd respectively.

Out of 202 runners, Benedictine University's Marcos Garcia won the men's race in a time of 25:22, finishing four seconds ahead of Olivet Nazarene University's Wesley Meyer. The University of Illinois Cross Country Club won the team title with 42 points, finishing 20 points ahead of second place Olivet Nazarene University. Benedictine University was third with 92 points, while the host school Spartans were fourth with a score of 134. Wheaton College came in fifth with 136 points, the Milwaukee School of Engineering was sixth with 174 points and Harper College was seventh with 209 points. Waubonsee was just four points behind the Hawks in eighth place with a score of 213.           

Waubonsee's women had four competitors and did not qualify for the team scoring. Gaby Juarez led Waubonsee's women finishing 50th out of 196 participants. The Aurora East High School graduate covered the 6K course in a time of 25:23. Freshman Daphne Kolody placed 108th, Maira Weitkamp came in 135th, and Dani Padilla finished 174th. 

Emily Pauli, representing the Aurora University Alumni team, won the women's race in a time of 22:07. Benedictine's Emma Roberts crossed the finish line 11 seconds later, while Olivet Nazarene's Karalyn Brock was a distant third coming in 44 seconds after Roberts. Elmhurst College won the team title with 47 points finishing 30 points ahead of the University of Illinois' Cross Country Club. Olivet Nazarene University was third with 100 points, Carthage College from Wisconsin was fourth with 129 points, and Bethel University from Indiana was fifth with 138 points.